Boards & Commissions

Many Board/Commission Terms expire April 30th each year.  During the May 3, 2022 City Council Meeting, Mayor Kuntz recommended the following updates to various boards/commissions and Council approved:  

Reappointments of Board/Commission Members:  

Airport Commission:  Matt Thurnau  

Fire Civil Service & Fire Board Code of Appeals:  Dallas Ketchum

Housing & Redevelopment Authority – Hussein Osman          

Human Rights Commission:  Jim Gunderson  

Park & Rec Board – Jonathan Thiel

Planning Commission:  David Effertz and Mark Meier  

Public Library Board:  Trudy Severson

Shade Tree Commission:  Kaye Fransen and Jon Simon

West Hills Commission:  Nancy Vaillancourt

 New Member Appointments:   

Airport Commission:  Tim McManimon

Park & Rec Board:  Tyler Cochran and Kara Perry

Library Board – Julianna Skluzacek

Human Rights Commission – Brandy Leon

West Hills Commission:  Carol Zetah

During this Council Meeting, Mayor Kuntz also recognized and thanked those whose terms ended on April 30th.The length of each member’s terms and number of terms they may serve is also set and membership reviewed annually for reappointments and/or new membership appointments.  We want to acknowledge these individuals for serving on these Boards/Commissions:  

Greg Kruger             Airport Commission                                              7+years

John Worden            Human Rights Commission                                 7+ years

Angie Malo                Park Board                                                          9 years

David Christianson    Park Board                                                          3 years

John Pfiefer               Library Board                                                      9 years

Kristi Thiel                 West Hills Commission                                       3 years

Human Rights Commission Promotes the acceptance of cultural diversity in Owatonna; to promote the elimination of hate, prejudice, and discrimination against persons or groups based on race, gender, religion, or other status of the person or group; to educate the community on issues of discrimination and cultural diversity; to advise the City Council and administration on human rights issues; and to promote the goals and objectives of the Minnesota Human Rights Act.  Commission meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30 pm.

Library Board  Does all things necessary for the efficient operation and management of a public library facility in the City of Owatonna to the extent that may be permitted by statute; empowered to accept and receive all donations and contributions for public library purposes.  Board meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 4:00 pm. 

Park Board  Establish such committees thereof as it may see fit, and shall have the responsibility to advise the City Council about all operations of parks and recreational programming as offered by the Department of Parks and Recreation. The Board shall be charged to evaluate the delivery of services and quality of facilities.  Board meets the second Monday of each month at 4:30 pm. 

Public Utilities Commission  To enhance the quality of life in our community by safely and reliably delivering customer focused utility services.  The commission meets on the fourth Tuesday each month at 4:00 pm. 

Airport Commission  Plans and promotes and encourages the development and utilization of the Municipal Airport.  The commission meets on the second Thursday of each month at 5:00 pm. 

West Hills Commission  Serves as an advisory body to the Council and shall plan and promote and encourage the preservation of the West Hills property..  This commission meets quarterly on the first Tuesday of each calendar quarter at noon.