- City Services
Welcome to the Owatonna Police Department website. The department dedicates itself to the highest standards of excellence in professional law enforcement and is committed to providing a comprehensive program of education and enforcement services. The Owatonna Police Department serves the citizens of Owatonna and all those visiting our city.
We hope your time on our site is enjoyable and provides you with the information you need.
Sign Up for Citizen Alerts
Get alerted about emergencies and other important community news by signing up for the Steele County Emergency Notification System. This notification system enables Steele and Rice Counties to provide you with critical information quickly in a variety of situations such as: criminals that pose an immediate threat to public safety and property, evacuations of our buildings or neighborhoods, missing persons, and severe weather.
You will receive time sensitive messages through residential and business landlines, mobile devices, and by text messages, email, and through hearing impaired receiving device(s), and more. You pick where. Sign up for alerts now!
- How do I know if I should dial 911 or the police non-emergency number?
If the situation is life threatening or there is a crime in progress, call 911. If you want to report a crime that has already occurred, report suspicious activity, have a non-emergency situation, or have a question, call 507-451-8232.
- Where is the police department located?
The Owatonna Police Department is located with the Pearl Street 911 Center and the Steele County Sheriff’s Office at the Law Enforcement Center. View directions to the department office.
- How do I obtain a copy of a police report?
Report requests can be sent via email to LECRecords@SteeleCountyMN.gov
A request can be made in person at the Law Enforcement Center during regular business hours. Regular business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday excluding legal holidays.
Requests can also be made in writing via letter or fax to 507-444-0330 at anytime.
Such requests will be processed during regular business hours. Please be advised police reports may not be made available until five business days have passed since the date of the incident. This is to allow for report preparation, transaction, data processing and filing time.
- Is there a charge for police reports?
Yes. Fees for copies of reports are as follows:
- One to four pages - No charge
- Five to nine pages - $1.25
- Ten to ninety-nine pages - $0.25 per page
- One hundred pages or more - Actual cost
All copies are black and white, one side of a piece of paper. There is no charge for reports to the victim of crimes against persons.
Fees for electronic copies are as follows:
- Audio tapes are $5 each
- Disks are $5 each
- VCR tapes are $20 each
- Where can I get information on concealed weapons permits?
Once you have completed the required training and received your certificate, you may apply for a gun permit at the Law Enforcement Center. A fee of $100 (cash only) is required at the time of application. For more information on concealed weapons permits, visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website.
- How do I find out about predatory offenders living in Owatonna?
Level 3 offenders are listed on the Minnesota Department of Corrections website. To find out about non-compliant predatory offenders in the state of Minnesota, visit the BCA website.
- Do officers have a quota of traffic tickets they have to meet?
No. The Owatonna Police Department does not set a quota on traffic tickets written.
- What do I do if my vehicle is impounded?
Before a vehicle can be released from impound, the registered owner must provide proof of insurance, current registration and have two valid drivers present. Once these conditions (and any others set by the impounding officer) have been met, the police department will notify the tow company to release the vehicle. Any tow charges and storage fees are the responsibility of the vehicle owner.
- How can I claim my property?
Release of property and evidence is by appointment only. In order for property and/or evidence to be returned to you, the investigator or officer responsible for your case must authorize its release. You will need your case number and a valid ID card or driver’s license for items to be released to you.
A representative may also be designated to pick up your property but must present a notarized letter verifying representation. For further details concerning the options available in reclaiming your property, call the Property and Evidence Technician at 507-774-7205.
- How many police officers does the Owatonna Police Department have?
The Owatonna Police Department has 37 sworn full time officers.
- If I have a minor accident, do I have to wait for the police to arrive?
Technically, no, unless the total property damage is $1,000 or more. You do have an obligation to provide your insurance information to the other driver or owner of the property that was damaged. However, the Owatonna Police Department encourages you to report the accident and wait for an officer.