City Council & Election Information

Elected Officials and City Administrator - 2021

 City Council, Mayor, and City Administrator - September 2021

Back row (left to right): Council Members Nate Dotson, Greg Schultz, Dave Burbank, Kevin P. Raney, and Brent Svenby.

Front row (left to right): Council Member Dan Boeke, Mayor Tom Kuntz, City Administrator Kris Busse, and Council Member Doug Voss.

Regular Meeting Schedule

  • 7:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month in Council Chambers at City Hall, 540 West Hills Circle in Owatonna, MN.  

Elected City Officials

The Mayor and City Council members are the elected leaders of the City Government. Each was elected to serve a 4-year term.  

Thomas A. Kuntz, MayorThomas A, Kuntz

Council Members:  

Doug Voss, Council Member at LargeDoug Voss

Dan Boeke, Council Member at LargeDan BoekeDave Burbank, Third WardDave Burbank

Nathan Dotson, First WardNate Dotson

Kevin P. Raney, Fourth Ward and Council Vice-PresidentKevin Raney

Greg Schultz, Second Ward and Council PresidentGreg Schultz

Brent Svenby, Fifth WardBrent Svenby


The City Council makes all policy decisions in matters such as: budgets, improvement projects, legislation and zoning.  The Council hires the City Attorney and City Administrator, and confirms appointments to the City’s Boards, Commissions, and Department Head positions.

Strategic Plan

View the 3-year Strategic Plan - 2022-2024 

View Council Meetings 

Council Meetings will be livestreamed on the public access channels:  

            Spectrum Cable - Channel 181 

            MetroNet - Channel 900 

City Council Meetings are held the first and third Tuesdays of each month.  

Playback of the last Council Meeting will also air on these Public Access Channels at these times:  

  • Wednesdays at 12:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.
  • Thursdays at 11 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.
  • Fridays at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturdays at 4 p.m.
  • Sundays at 4 p.m.